Mike Fisher a.k.a. Chicken
Position: Co-owner/Sales
Age: 38
Hometown: Rochelle, IL
Education: Bachelors degree in marketing from Rockford College.

Cycling Background: I have ridden my bike all my life. I started racing BMX in 8th grade and quickly became interested in BMX freestyle. I spent most of high school trying to hurt myself doing tricks on my bike and skateboarding. In 1990 I bought my first mountain bike (Schwinn Paramount) and got into racing mountain bikes. A few years later, I got my first bike shop job at Kegel’s Bicycle Store run by Robb Sinks and worked there through college. After college moved to Atlanta GA and became involved in developing a high-end international wheelchair racing series called the Americas Series with a high school friend, Scot Hollenbeck. After helping to promote professional wheelchair racing and trying my hand at working in the advertising world, I longed to get back into the cycling industry and was hired by Trek as an inside sale representative. Several years later my wife was tiring of cold mid-western winters and our first child about to be born so we decided to move to Birmingham to be near her large family. I got a job in a local bike shop as a buyer and worked in their chain of stores until it was time to start my own shop. Six years later here we are.

Personal motto: Everywhere is walking distance if you have the time.
Current bikes: 2009 Colnago C50, 2009 Jamis Dragon 29’er, Bianchi Pista set-up for road riding, and a Bontrager Privateer single speed
Social networking links: I can be found on Facebook, Twitter and Linked-in.


Tim Heard a.k.a. Crusher
Position: Co-owner/Sales/Coaching
Age: 38
Hometown: Birmingham, AL
Education: Bachelors degree from the University of Alabama in Sports and Fitness Management/ Human Performance.

Cycling background: I started riding at a young age and took my first dip into racing bicycle enduros in the late 70’s and as it turned out was fairly good and grabbed the under 10 Southeastern Champion, after that I continued to ride casually participating in all the mainstream sports through out middle and high school. Once I reached college I picked it up again as a form of transportation occasionally venturing to the local trails. After a brief stint in the restaurant industry I began working at a bike shop to pay the bills which made bike commuting easy so I got rid of my car to commute for three years. Once engrained in the culture I took up racing and began to use my background in human performance to work with professional fitting which has now progressed to also coaching cyclists and tri-athletes after opening our own shop.

Personal Motto: Make today count!
List of current bikes: Jamis Zenith SL
Social networking links: I can be found on Twitter, Linked-in and Plaxo.


Jason Barksdale a.k.a. JB
Position: Service Manager
Age: 29 9/7/1980
Hometown: Birmingham, AL
Education: John Carroll High School, UAB

Cycling background: I have been riding all my life and was able to start working at a bike shop when I turned 14 and I have worked in a bike shop ever since.

Personal Motto: Keep it Simple; I like single speeds, rigid forks and mechanical disc brakes.
List of current bikes: Vassago Jabberwocky 29er Single Speed with Rigid Fork, Surly Crosscheck Sram Rival cyclocross/road bike and a 1980’s Lemond Steel frame w/fixie conversion.
Social networking links: I can be found on Facebook.


Shawn Carroll a.k.a. Stickboy
Position: Mechanic/Sales
Age: 39
Hometown: Powersite, MO
Education: Mathematics, Insurance and Risk Management and Accounting

Cycling Background: Riding: I started riding somewhat seriously in high school to alleviate boredom from running. I went on to participate in some duathlons in college. Realizing I was a stronger cyclist than runner gave up running and cycled exclusively on the road. I raced collegiately for Southwest Missouri State and Georgia State. I started racing on the veleodrome in 2008 and cyclo-cross in 2009. Wrenching: Wrenched at a shop (A & B Cycles) while in college. I started part time at BBC in 2006. USAC licensed mechanic since 2008. I also have worked neutral support with Mavic Special Service Course and SRAM Neutral Race Support.

Personal moto: I’m all about the old school (give me round bars, frame pump, and 3x wheels any day).
List of Current Bikes: Ridley Damocles (soon to be Jamis Xenith SL), Cinelli Vigorelli (soon to be Jamis Sonik), Schwinn Unicycle
Social networking links: Facebook : Shawn Richard Carroll Twitter: Shawn_carroll Linked-In: Shawn Carroll  

 


BBC Links | Rides | Athlete Login | Safety Tips

 

Copyright© 2010 Birmingham Bicycle Company
Web Design by TEAM STRONG